References and reflection

Machiavelli N. Chapter XVIII: Concerning the Way in Which Princes Should Keep Faith. In Machiavelli N. The Prince. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 2000

  Aristotle. I, 2, 1356 a. In Aristotle Rhetoric. In Richard C. Jebb’s translation, 1924.

Arendt, H. (1972). Crises of the Republic: Lying in politics ; Civil disobedience ; On violence ; Thoughts on politics and revolution. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich.

Chadwick I., June 8 2017. The subtle Art of Lying. The Municipal Machiavelli [online]. Available from: http://ianchadwick.com/machiavelli/chapters-15-21/chapter-18-the-subtle-art-of-lying/ [Accessed 22/10/2017]

Leonhardt D., Thompson S. Trumps’s Lies. [online]. New York Times: New York; 2017 [Accessed 23/10/2017]. Available from: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2017/06/23/opinion/trumps-lies.html

 

At first, when I heard about this assignment I thought it would be a true challenge. I instantly thought about Politics since it is one of my major interests, and I have thought about these issues concerning truth before. Then I thought writing a blog offered us a way to express our thoughts in a rather informal and personal way compared to a formal essay. I was reassured by the fact that I had researched the subject of Truth in Politics before, and already knew what I was planning to talk about, but as I started my research this week I was impressed on how the debate had evolved in the last few years and how relevant this evolution was to my blog.

Therefore, I chose to structure my blog in a rather chronological way, starting with ancient ideas, Greek philosophy, the Renaissance symbol of intellectual development, with Machiavel, the history-changing insights of Hannah Arendt and finally, our present days and the current issues that nourished my interest in Politics in the first place. For the first time, I had to deal with referencing which I eventually understood but I definitely would not have thought that it would have taken me so long.

Leave a Reply

